THIS JUST IN: MATZO BALL SOUP IN MIDDLETOWN, CONNECTICUT

I am obsessed with matzo ball soup. Growing up in New York, it was served at pretty much every deli, diner, and even some upscale restaurants. When I first arrived in Middletown, I couldn’t even fathom the fact that no restaurants here had it. On days when I was sick, I pined over the lack of  matzo ball soup to cure my stuffy nose and sore throat. One time last year I even ordered it on a website where they deliver it to you frozen in dry ice! Yes, I am a little addicted to matzo ball soup, and Middletown’s lack of it was always a cause of major sadness in my life…

BUT…Today that has all changed.

YES! MATZO BALL SOUP HAS FOUND MIDDLETOWN AT LAST!

Where? Michael’s Deli. The unbelievable new restaurant located on Broad Street (stay tuned for a full article at the end of the week). I already loved them for their amazing cookies, superb homemade dressings, and top-notch sandwiches and salads, but now with matzo ball soup? They really couldn’t do better!

From the quality of all their other products, I have no doubt that Michael’s matzo ball soup will be off the charts. If you’re in a particularly Jewish mood, get it with the turkey rueben. DO NOT skimp out on the desserts. Their cookies and pies are amazing, as are their Philly cheesesteaks, meatballs, ahi tuna salads, buffalo chicken sandwiches…Who am I kidding? It’s all delicious!

Hurry down and get some soup while it’s still there. Maybe if enough people go, they’ll make it a permanent addition to the menu!

-Ari

What do you think of Michael’s Deli’s matzo ball soup?

Leave a comment